Discussion

The Ruler of Books

I got tagged by Em of Em’s Book Corner (emsbookcorner.blogspot.com) to do the Ruler of Books tag created by Ariel Bissett.

The questions relate to if I was the ruler of books, what I would do with my power. It’s a bit of fun that gives you an insight into my favourite books, authors and illustrators.

Here are the questions:

What book would you make everyone read?

Easy. Girl Up by Laura Bates. I wrote a review on it here on my blog if you want to see why I think everyone should read it.

What would you abolish in book construction?

There isn’t much about books and reading that I do not like but if I had to abolish something it would be film cover editions of books. Some can be beautiful and creative but they are mostly used to sell more books based on the fame of the film. I understand their purpose but as a book fan, they can be annoying.

What author would you commission to write you any book?

I would beg Ernest Cline to write a third book! I loved Ready Player One and Armada so I just need another book by him. I love sci fi and fantasy, especially 80s sci fi which is why his books really stuck with me. Also Ready Player One is becoming a film in 2018 and I can’t wait!

What book would you demote to the library basement to make room for new books?

The whole Twilight Saga. Sorry. I just tried them and never got with the trend. I just didn’t really enjoy them as much as other people did.

What cover artist would you commission to make a mural?

I would pick Quentin Blake to make a beautiful mural. I drew up on his illustrations in Roald Dahl books which sparked my love of reading. Without Dahl and Blake, I wouldn’t be the reader I am today.

What character’s face would you put on a coin?

Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice definitely deserves a coin. She’s strong willed and isn’t afraid to stand up for herself. That makes her a great role model to be celebrated on a coin.

What book would you award the Ruler of Books 2016 prize to?

For non-fiction: Animal by Sara Pascoe

For fiction: The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

 

So now I tag Abigail (abigailsbooks.wordpress.com) to do the same. I also tag anyone else who wants to give this a go.

Eloise

One thought on “The Ruler of Books

Leave a Reply

