Review

Finding Audrey, Sophie Kinsella

IMG_7080

This is another book I read on holiday on my Kindle.  I had been looking at it for a while in bookshops and read reviews by other book bloggers and bookstagrammers and finally bought it in an Amazon Kindle book sale and boy, it was worth it!

I very recently read Under Rose Tainted Skies (a book I haven’t written a review for yet just because it was so beautiful I don’t even know what to say yet) and I found this book to be very similar which I liked.  Finding Audrey is about a girl called Audrey who has social anxiety and general anxiety.  She was admitted to hospital after a major incident of bullying at school.  The exact details of this incident are never explained by Audrey, the narrator, but it’s not hard to imagine the kind of bullying that takes place in a school.  Due to her mental illness, Audrey finds it very difficult to go outside and talk to/touch people she doesn’t know.  Audrey doesn’t like eye contact which is why she is always wearing dark glasses.  This all changes when she meets Linus, her brother’s friend, who starts to take an interest in getting to know her.

Remove all the layers of family relationships and mental health, and this is essentially a romance story.  It is both sad and funny at times due to Audrey’s honest narration of her life.  Throughout the book there are extracts of film scripts written about the video diaries Audrey makes as a therapy challenge.  These extracts enclose parts of family life that a single narrator would not usually share but help for the context of lots of events.

This book was incredibly short and I finished it in a couple of hours.  It was a very enjoyable read due to the short length and fast pace of events.  There was only one moment where I felt the pace was too fast for a particular event in the book.  I would strongly recommend this book as one to get you out of a reading slump because it is fast paced, funny and constantly interesting.

2 thoughts on “Finding Audrey, Sophie Kinsella

    1. I agree. It was a good book but I read it quite soon after Under Rose Tainted Skies which was just incredible! Both had similar plots so I was hard not to compare them.

      Like

Leave a Reply

