Review

Lydia, Natasha Farrant

IMG_7092

I’d been waiting for this book for ages.  Some bloggers that I follow had received advanced proof copies of this book and had been praising it quite highly.  It’s no secret that I absolutely love Pride and Prejudice so anything based on the Austen classic will immediately grab my attention.

As the title suggests, Lydia is Pride and Prejudice in the point of view of the youngest Bennet sister, Lydia.  It tells of her adventures in Brighton before her scandal and marriage.  It is not necessary to read Pride and Prejudice before this book but it certainly makes it more interesting.  There are minor plot overlaps but generally, Farrant has avoided copying Jane Austen and has instead created a new story of her own.  Her creativity in the unknown events of Brighton really captivated me.  Like most fans, I had always wondered what most of the characters get up to whilst Elizabeth is off, and Natasha Farrant has given us an insight into the possible lives of the other Bennet sisters.  She cleverly respects Austen’s story and characters whilst adding some very fascinating new characters that I loved.  These new characters made Lydia’s trip to Brighton even more interesting and action-packed than I believed it was just from the minor details from Pride and Prejudice.

I was at first worried I wouldn’t enjoy the story because of how strongly I love the original but I really enjoyed it.  It was quite a short and quick read, in diary form, so I finished it in 2 days.  I liked that it was a short book (285 pages) as the main section of the book spans the 2 months Lydia is in Brighton.  The previous Pride and Prejudice events are briefly mentioned as diary entries too but only if Lydia’s input gives a new spin to the event.  It is interesting to see how Lydia views balls, Netherfield and marriage in a totally different light to her sister Elizabeth.

This book will definitely be one I recommend to people who love Pride and Prejudice, and to those who do not.

I will most certainly continue to love Pride and Prejudice and anything based on it.  That is why I have just started reading Pride and Prejudice and Zombies.  I have watched the film but not read the book so I was so happy when a friend bought me a copy after A-level results day.  I’ll probably be reviewing that one soon because so far, I am really enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

