Discussion

Book Blog Newbie Tag

I was inspired to do this tag after I saw Abigail at abigailsbooks.wordpress.com had done it. Like her, I’m quite new to book blogging so I’m hoping this post will be interesting to you, my followers.

 

Why did you start this blog? 

I started this blog because I’m doing an English degree at university in a few weeks time. I thought that starting a blog would give me something productive to do in the summer that I would really enjoy and that would give me lots of useful skills.  From this experience I wish to learn better analytical skills, time management, independence and a deeper understanding of digital media. I know that’s a lot to ask from one little book blog but it really is my hobby too!

What are some fun and unique things you can bring to book blogging?

I read a large variety of different books, both fiction and non-fiction, and from lots of different genres. I think I’ll always write a review that will interest someone somewhere.

What are you most excited about for this new blog?

More reviews and more book discussions. I’m just excited to keep it going once I’ve started university. I’m also excited to read more blogs by other book lovers and maybe meet some people at events in the future.

Why do you love reading?

It’s what I’ve always done. I’ve always loved reading and hopefully I always will. Reading lets you explore new places you haven’t been to and step into the shoes of so many different kinds of people. I love that.

What book series got you into reading?

Not really a series but the first books I ever read were by Roald Dahl. I loved how funny and silly his books were to a younger me.

What questions would you ask your favourite authors? 

That’s a hard question! I’d probably ask all of them what inspired them to write their books but that’s so obvious!

What challenges do you think starting a blog will be the hardest to overcome?

Making sure I post interesting and new content twice a week. Sometimes I’m not in the mood for reading or writing but by keeping this blog up to date, I’ve been able to fight some of those lazy feelings. I’ve been more productive this summer just from drafting, reading, thinking and taking photographs.

When did you start reading?

Pretty much always. When I first arrived home as a newborn, my mum read to me and continued to do so until I could read myself. My mum tells me often how amazed she was when I was really young and worked out that writing meant something. Before I could decode letters myself, I used to ask her to read everything to me. That’s when she knew I’d be a book lover.

Where do you read? 

Anywhere! Well, usually my bed but honestly anywhere. I take books on holiday with me so I’ve read in cars, on beaches, in parks, in my garden. I like that reading is an indoor hobby that can be so easily taken outdoors. Nothing makes me more happy than seeing people out and about in the fresh air reading a book I really enjoyed.

What kind of books do you read? 

A whole variety really. When browsing a bookshop, the main sections I look at are classics, science fiction, really science and young adult. I like fiction the most but I have a lot of non-fiction books too. Despite being an English kind of girl, I really love science so I have quite a few science books on my bookshelves.

 

So I hope that this tag has taught you some interesting stuff about me as a person and a relatively new blogger. If anyone else does this tag please let me know in the comments and I’ll check it out. I’m always looking for new and exciting blogs to read, especially from new bloggers like me.

Eloise 🙂

Leave a Reply

