Review

October Wrap-Up

Before starting university a month ago, I set myself the challenge of reading at least one novel or two novellas/shorter novels a month.  I wasn’t sure if I would do it because I didn’t know how much time I would have between university and a job.  To my surprise, I managed to find the time to read 3 books in October!

The first book I read in October was The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde.  I started this book for Banned Book Week and continued it through the start of October.  You can read my review of it here.

 

The next book I read last month was In the Dark, In the Woods by Eliza Wass (the British title version of the Cresswell Plot).  I very much enjoyed this book.  It was very dark and gripping and I managed to finish it within a day.  It follows the story of Castley, who is hidden from the world along with her five siblings by their father.  The story centres on the theme of religion and what it is like to start questioning the beliefs that have been given to you by your parents.  The story is loosely based on the author’s own experiences of growing up which makes the story even more emotional and harrowing.  I felt quite emotionally connected to Castley because despite her home life and beliefs being different from the other people in her school, she simply wanted to lead a normal life as a teenage girl.

 

The last book I read in October was The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie.  This was the fourth Agatha Christie book I have read but the first one in the Miss Marple series.  I have watched lots of the television adaptations – even this one but I always manage to forget the ending which meant that it was like reading a brand new story!  I love the multiple narratives in Christie’s books as it allows us as readers to learn about the mystery from different people and gather together the whole story by the end.  The twists and turns kept the story exciting at all times and made it very hard to put down.  I would strongly recommend this book to anyone who is thinking of exploring the works of Agatha Christie or just to anyone who just wants an exciting mystery.

 

I am hoping to read around the same amount for November as I now really enjoy reading on my bus journeys to university and work and occasionally in the evening to relax.

Leave a Reply

