Discussion

A Belated Happy New Year

Happy New Year!  For last week…

It has been a while since I have posted on this blog but that is about to change.  I don’t usually set myself new years resolutions – I think they are often too ambitious and can set yourself up for failure – but this year, I will set myself some reading goals.  By reading goals, I don’t mean challenge myself to a certain number of books for the year, I just mean give myself ways to make sure I spend more time enjoying reading and really thinking about what I am reading.

I will have lots of set texts to read at university very soon which will mean I’ll have less time for casual reading.  Like last year, I still hope to read on the bus and in the evenings when I can so I can still enjoy the books I want to read as well as reading for my degree.  This makes my first reading goal of 2017 a continuation of one from 2016.  Easy start!

I already read a reasonable range of books, non-fiction and fiction, but I hope to increase the variety as the year goes on.  I would like to read more diverse books from authors from around the world.  I feel this will improve my cultural awareness and understanding of the world even through fictional works.  I would also like to keep reading books around the topic of my degree, English, to better my knowledge and improve my university experience.

Something I’ve learned more recently is that there’s a lot more to reading than just books.  Throughout school, teachers nagged us to read more newspaper and magazine articles which I never understood because I used to think studying English was all about books and literature.  That was until now.  So my final reading goal for 2017 is to read more journalism.  Newspaper articles, online opinion pieces, historical journalism and even Twitter.  Over the course of the year, I hope to read a wide variety of journalism to better understand the style of writing in a linguistic sense, and to just be more aware of the world around me.  I really like the way Emma Gannon lists the articles she has been reading that week on her weekly newsletter and I feel I may adopt a similar style on this blog or simply on Twitter.  I hope that over time, I will be able to create strong opinions on some articles, especially the controversial ones, and use this blog to voice them.

I hope these goals will be simple enough for me to keep up with them throughout the year, but challenging enough to make me really think about what I’m reading.  I hope that the more I read, the more I’ll write about reading so the more I will post on my blog.  Here’s to a good year ahead!

Eloise 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “A Belated Happy New Year

Leave a Reply

