Review

The Night is Darkening Round Me, Emily Bronte

It was National Poetry Day on Tuesday and to celebrate it I decided to read some poetry by Emily Bronte.  I have previously read Wuthering Heights by Bronte but none of her poetry – despite hearing how good it is.

I do not usually read poetry.  In fact, I hadn’t enjoyed reading it until I read Milk and Honey by Rupi Kaur (read my review of it here).  After reading that collection I was then determined to read more poetry, especially by female poets.  So when I saw a Bronte collection in the Penguin Little Black Classics series, I was intrigued to give it a go.

This collection of poetry is about love, death, nature and time, the usual themes of Romantic poetry in the eighteenth century.  Bronte has the talent of portraying the deepest, most passionate emotions within carefully constructed delicate lines and stanzas.  There is very little internal deviation from the structural styles and rhyme schemes Bronte has selected for each poem.

Each poem was a pleasure to read.  They were all quite different in theme but had a similar style which brought them all together as a collection.  Some were dark and melancholic whereas others were happier and lighter.  Even the descriptions of nature varied from naturalist to gothic – a style Emily, and her sister Charlotte, are famous for using in their novels.  My favourite poem of the collection is an untitled poem which first line is ‘The blue bell is the sweetest flower’.  It felt appropriate in the lovely spring weather.  (As I type this blog post now, the sun is shining and the daffodils are blooming.  It is beautiful.)  Another poem I particularly liked was Stanzas, an emotional poem about the mourning of a loved one.

Leave a Reply

